Hollywood’s latest trend: promiscuous women are empty people

22 Jan

Before I get to the Roe v. Wade anniversary, here’s a fun little note from the WSJ blog observing the latest trend in Hollywood: young women in movies who are miserable when they have lots of no-strings-attached sex:

Such characters aren’t likely to become feminist icons. Their interest in commitment-free sex typically is fueled  by deep-seated emotional problems (see the 1977 film “Looking for Mr. Goodbar’)–or even potentially fatal medical issues. In “Love and Other Drugs,” [Anne] Hathaway’s character keeps men at arm’s length in part because she has Parkinson’s disease.

Holy shit, that’s some pretty rough stuff. I guess Hollywood is finally getting around to portraying real, complex human problems.

Well, I will do my part too as a woman and learn from this. I resolve to be nicer to guys using bad lines to try to get laid if the reason they’re using those horrible fucking lines is because they’re dying. Or have crippling emotional problems. That’s what the problem was the whole time? I feel kind of bad for hating on those guys so much.

No?

This nice little post tries to put this “trend” down to “cinematic exploration of the meaning, and worth, of long-term relationships.” I haven’t seen the movies he cites so I don’t know if he’s right on that account.

But here’s the thing I would add: Hollywood is very good in general at not sermonizing to viewers about things they don’t like and don’t want to hear. So if those female characters are miserable, you can bet there is a focus group out there who told producers they wanted it that way. And guess what? No one should be surprised when the story has to end with everyone realizing that what they really wanted was true love. It’s America.

This is the actual really annoying part: Regardless of the women in romcoms who love or hate themselves for their sexual choices, they inevitably spend a massive shitload of time obsessing about them.

Why is that?  I don’t know, ask all the women filling the theater.

One Response to “Hollywood’s latest trend: promiscuous women are empty people”

  1. petelangman January 23, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    Goodness! Well hey, I seem to be a man and you know what? I couldn’t agree more …

    I’m sick of this cretinous double standard,too …

    http://wp.me/p16t7v-h5

    http://wp.me/p16t7v-fT

Leave a Reply

